2016: Movies and TV

This year, I saw some films, and I also watched television. My faves:

Jupiter Ascending

I watched this while waiting in hospital with (what I didn’t know then was) a burst ovarian cyst. It’s a glorious space story with wild acting and some really incredible shots. If you’re sick of every sci fi film ever being the same: watch Channing Tatum be a space werewolf with rocket boots.

Ghostbusters

The Ghostbusters reboot, somewhat like Jupiter Ascending, shows you what CGI can do now in some quite mind-bending ways. Also after watching it I was gayer, which I didn’t think was possible, so good job Kate McKinnon?

tumblr_o7c5euim2h1udh5n8o1_500
my sexuality: Kate McKinnon

CODE: Debugging the Gender Gap

In a world where I have $0 for anything except food and coffee most of the time, I saw CODE twice. It’s a fascinating look at the history of computer science and how we’ve gone from having coding being a “great career for young women” to the idea of a computer scientist being synonymous with dudebro culture. It also features so many inspirational and amazing women (I may have cried more than once during this film).

Jabbed: Love, Fear, and Vaccines

Jabbed actually came out in 2013 but I managed to see it for the first time this year at Silver Screen Science (an annual event put on by the WEHI). Jabbed is some of the most even-handed scientific journalism I’ve ever experienced, and having listened to Sonya Pemberton speak more than once (and having held her Emmy), I am in awe of her and her team. It’s from Genepool Productions, a Melbourne group, and is well worth your time even if you’ve already made up your mind about vaccines.

14111611_10157309990985433_779553089_n
This taught me I’m definitely going to win an Emmy one day.

Film honourable mentions: Hunt for the Wilderpeople, Zootopia, Star Wars???? star wars


Television: A lot of new series came out this year (and there are a lot slated for next year) so I’m only going to touch on the few that left a mark on me. Because sure, I watched the Gilmore Girls revival, but I’m not ready to blog about it yet (seriously though Rory was so bad at being a journalist and how dare she)

Terrace House

Terrace House is a Japanese reality television show where six people (three men, three women) live together and they film it. It’s so incredibly human – if you’ve become jaded from the music stings and clear editing of shows, Terrace House is something that you can watch and it makes you happy (except for the episode with the House Meeting which is infuriating and terrible). It also introduced me to omu-rice.

Funny Girls

Funny Girls is a NZ comedy sketch show that once made me spurt coffee out my nose. It’s got the bae (Rose Matafeo), the other bae (Madeline Sami, who directed this season) (Madeline Sami is living her best life and I want to be her when I grow up), and some people I hadn’t heard of before but whom I now really like.

Sketches to see: Truck CommercialFemale Politician Press Conference, and Male Feminists.

It reminds me a lot of Black Comedy, in the sense that we’re finally realising that comedy is really good when it’s not just white dudes saying the same stuff.

Cleverman

HEY WHAT’S UP AUSTRALIA I DIDN’T KNOW YOU COULD MAKE GOOD TV SOMETIMES.

I don’t spend a lot of time caring about what Australian television does, but Cleverman was pretty life-changing. It’s difficult to explain without accidentally giving away spoilers but it’s a near future/alternative australia where the “Hairies” are a type of people who are restricted to living in compounds and the government is not-so-secretly trying to kill them all. It’s got some pretty great social commentary on whatever the fuck Australia is doing re: refugees and also indigenous people, and it’s got Deborah Mailman in it.

Other shows to mention briefly from this year are: Orphan Black, Black Comedy, The Mindy Project, Master of None, and BoJack Horseman.


On the list for 2017 is Westworld, Terrace house: Aloha state, and I can’t see myself not watching the reboot of A Series of Unfortunate Events. The My Brother, My Brother and Me TV series is also coming out, which I’m gonna do my best to get access to.

Leave a Reply

